MMTC Logo ArtworkMira Mesa Town Council

Mira Mesa Town Council Volunteer of the Year

Each year since 1984 the Mira Mesa Town Council has held an annual dinner to recognize special volunteers who make this community a better place. The Volunteer of the Year need not be a Mira Mesa Town Council member, but should be someone who has made a significant contribution to Mira Mesa through volunteer work, not just during the past year but over the years s/he has been involved with the community.

Prior Mira Mesa Volunteers of the Year are:

1984    Verne Goodwin

1985    John Worthington

1986    Bruce Brown

1987    Sandra Sparks

1988    Dawn Gutierrez

1989    Orlando Vernacchia

1990    Pam Stevens

1991    Brenda Bowman

1992    Jeff Stevens and Sharon McCollum

1993    Bob O’Hara

1994    Bruce Brown

1995    John Malo

1996    Eldon Jacobs

1997    Marvin Miles

1998    Larry Brady

1999    Debbie Vincent

2000    Keith Flitner

2001    Robin Stutsman

2002    Karen Burger

2003    Tim Allen

2004    Steve Stutsman

2005    Joe Frichtel

2006    Chuck Sweet

2007    Mike Davis

2008    Ted Brengel

2009    Sandy Smith

2010    John Sunde

2011    Judy Taylor

2012    Bari Vaz

2013    Maria Pankau

2014    Julius Hitchens

2015    Jim Hearn

2016    Sabrina Bazzo

In February 1995 MMTC members adopted standing rules for the “Volunteer of the Year” award specifying that MMTC policy would be to have MMTC members vote on Volunteer of the Year nominees submitted by members and the public - prior to that, the MMTC Board made the selection from submitted nominations, except for 1989, when a vote of the membership was held. In addition, the rules adopted in 1995 stated that MMTC policy would be to select only one Volunteer of the Year and to not select an honoree who has previously been Volunteer of the Year.